Darkened Awakening: A Short Story

 

Night…awake… dreaming…? What time can it be? Late…so late. I am tired…so, so tired. Did I sleep? I do not know.

I feel…something…a presence. I see nothing, no one. Gentle air crosses my skin with an eerie familiarity…of dread. I hear nothing…I am so tired.

 

Awake…Did I sleep? It’s another day. It must be… days later? It must be days later…fatigue… God I am so tired…so, so tired.

I feel…a presence. I hear nothing. Dark colors whirl…they are there…? An intruder…how? All my feeble alertness senses…is silence.

 

Lucidity reveals my wakefulness…it is night. A dream?…no…too real. This weariness is not possible in a dream. My mind…my intention…has altered. God I am tired…so, so tired.

Pale skin covers my lethargic bones. Instead of blood, apathy flows…pulsing. What am I doing? What was I doing? What is keeping me awake?…so, so tired.

 

There…again. I feel it. Someone…is there…here. The feeling…the damned feeling…again. Too real. My tired muscles tighten. I am aware.

This entity…this stalker…they know me…I know. I knew they would come…eventually. I am so, so tired.

They know.

 

 

………….

 

 

Before me…I now know…before me they stand. Their appearance…I can’t focus. Silence…premonition…lethargy.

I’m met with a bewildered stare. Footsteps away…that stare…clawing at my essence. So dark…what keeps me standing I know not.

My stalker stirs…moving…closer. Her stare…that gaze…horrific…unblinking…never regressing. She looks tired…yet with intent…fixated…explicit.

Her face…dear God…her face. She knows…she knows me…at an arm’s reach away. It is now…I realize her purpose. It can be only for…one…

…reason…

To end

 

 

………….

 

 

Upon my wasted frame…her gaze unfaltering…she raises it. My end. It could have been anyone’s…yet she chose me.

A struggle begins…strife for power…for life…for death. This will be the end. My stalker…her gaze…dear God. My exhausted hands…her icy grasp…unreal.

Through force…I overpower…I persist. Slowly…she lowers her arm…no disturbance…no fear. The night…is so dark…so, so dark.

It’s over. Numbness…barely standing…but I won. I won. I hold it…the end. She stands…visible…malicious.

Silence ensues…tense breathing…difficult heartbeats. Dead air…she breaks…whispering,

 

“Die”

 

I take the end

I steady the end

I am the end

Myself, my reality, my everything…

…hesitation…

 

“Die”

 

She speaks unmistakably.

Without hesitation

I press it against my form

It is done

My eyes rest…the end

 

My end

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Iceland, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Darkened Awakening: A Short Story

  1. Mom says:

    Well this was real happy…nicely written but not too upbeat!! Hmmmm……

    Like

Leave a Reply

